Five in a Row

Some good news- Buddy the jack russel terrier I walked yesterday has been adopted! yay! also, Ciarra the Mastiff was adopted. She has the saddest sweetest droopy face, so I’m not surprised she was scooped right up! well, she weighs too much to be scooped, but you know what I mean. Today I walked five dogs in a row. Two that I had walked before, and three new-to-me dogs.

Mercedes will do anything for a treat!

Mercedes will do anything for a treat!

I walked Mercedes what seems like a long time ago. She should get the most improved dog award. I guess the trainer has been working with her, and you can see the difference! She still pulls some, but only if you let her get away with it. She has her obedience commands down and loves to do them for treats. She is great at Sit and Down. I was very impressed.

Mercedes demonstrates the "down" command

Mercedes demonstrates the "down" command

I also walked Rita, whom I walked yesterday, again today. She is such a sweet laid-back girl. She is very calm and easy to walk and has such a pleasant disposition. And she has those cute ears that look too big for her head!

Rita

Rita


Meet Dreamcicle

  • Name: DREAMCICLE
  • Sex: spayed female
  • Breed: Pit Bull Terrier.
  • Age: 1 year and 1 month old.
  • Weight: @ 39 pounds.
Creamcicle

Creamcicle Dreamcicle


Meet Jasmine

  • Name: JASMINE
  • Sex: spayed female
  • Breed: Pit Bull Terrier mix.
  • Age: 6 months old.
  • Weight: @ 31 pounds
Jasmine and her big feet

Jasmine and her big feet

Jasmine is still a puppy and still growing, as you can tell by her big feet! She is very affectionate and sociable. She didn’t pull at all on the leash and enjoyed playing with me and giving kisses.

Jasmine and I

Jasmine and I

walk6


Meet  King

  • Name: KING
  • Sex:  neutered male,
  • Breed: Pit Bull Terrier and American Staffordshire Terrier.
  • Age: 1 year and 6 months old.
  • Weight: 56 pounds
King

King

King is new at the shelter and he was obviously spooked by all the noise and new environment. He was curled up in the corner of his pen and shaking. I thought I was done for the day, but when I saw him, I knew I had to try to take him out for a walk. He helped me put his collar on by pushing his head through, and then walked very nicely on the leash out. As soon as we were outside, there was a big difference in him, and it only grew the longer we were on a walk. He started to relax more and was wonderful to walk. He kept looking up at me with those big brown eyes to check if he was doing what I wanted him to. When I squatted down next to him, he put his head on my shoulder and pressed his body into me like a big hug. He was a little jumpy at noisy trucks and other dogs, but was very well behaved, very affectionate, and enjoyed exploring. He did not want to go back into his pen, but he seemed a lot less spooked than before his walk, so I hope he gets used to his surroundings and then is adopted quickly so he can have a home and a family to himself.

The King and I

The King and I

King

King

Leave a comment

Filed under animals

Leave a Reply

