Sarah’s Humdinger Mango Ginger Juice

Sarah's Humdinger

Sarah's Humdinger

I love ginger. Ever since going to Trinidad, where my fellow traveler Carolyne gave me part of her ginger root for my sea and car sickness, I’ve just ate it raw, biting off the root, skin and all. This is a little too intense of a flavor for some, but as I said, I love ginger. When I have sushi, if there is leftover pickled ginger I will eat it by itself. I recently bought some crystallized ginger with sugar at a discount store. It was made by a company called The Ginger People, and is very delicious. I went to their website and saw that they also sold various ginger drinks. They all sounded great, but cost a lot more than I am willing to spend. So, I thought, maybe I can make some. I searched all over the internet for interesting ginger drink recipes. But either none of them were quite what I wanted, or they required ingredients not in my house, and I didn’t want to go out to the grocery store. So I made up my own! Those of you who know me will know this is quite a feat, as I am still getting acclimated to the kitchen, and used to freak out if I didn’t have a specific recipe and follow it exactly. I have been improvising more with foods lately, so I thought I’d give a drink a try! Using only what I had in my apartment, here is how I did it:

Sarah’s Humdinger Mango Ginger Juice, With Tamarind, Honey, and Cardamon Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 large mango
  • 1 ginger root (@ 4 inches)
  • 2 tsp tamarind sauce
  • 1 tbs honey
  • 1 1/2 pinches of ground cardamon
  • Water

Directions:

  1. Chop the ginger root into small pieces (leaving the skin on).
  2. Loosen the mango flesh (there is probably a more efficient way of doing this, but I cut the mango into chunks and scraped the flesh off…of course, my mango was quite overripe. I got it when it was still too green with the intent of letting it sit, which I did, perhaps too long).
  3. Put the ginger and mango in a blender.
  4. Add 2 1/2 cups of water.
  5. Blend on grate until less chunky, then blend of puree.
  6. Add 2 tsp of tamarind sauce to the blender.
  7. Blend on mix or stir.
  8. Strain the juice into a medium sized sauce pan.
  9. Add 1/2 cup more of water.
  10. Heat on stove top on medium/medium-high, stirring occasionally.
  11. Add 1 tbs honey and 1 1/2 pinches of ground cardamon.
  12. Bring to a boil.
  13. Allow to cool.
  14. Add to a pitcher, and fill the  pitcher with more water until you reach desired consistency/taste. I added enough water to make 3 pints altogether.
  15. Refrigerate.
  16. Serve on ice.
  17. Enjoy.
2 Comments

Filed under Diet

2 responses to “Sarah’s Humdinger Mango Ginger Juice

  1. This looks interesting, I’m gonna have to try it out.

  2. pigeonpeanuts

    I like it with the intense ginger flavor, but if you want it sweeter add sugar or some recipes call for agave syrup which might be good. You could also cut it with orange juice or ginger ale. I’m trying right now, a half a glass of the Humdinger Juice with the rest filled with gingerale and it is very refreshing!

Leave a Reply

