Artist Trading Cards (ATC)

When my friend and editor of Plain Spoke, Cindy Kelly, posted as her status on facebook that she wanted to know who would make artist trading cards with her, I was intrigued. I wasn’t sure what that was, but it sounded like something I’d be interested in. So I looked it up, Artist Trading Cards are miniature works of art the same size as baseball cards. ATC was originated by M.VÄNÇI STIRNEMANN in Switzerland in 1996. Artist trading cards must designed and self-produced, and then traded with each other, preferably in person. This is not about money, as the cards are traded card for card with no fee. All techniques and material are allowed, the only rule is on the size (64 x 89 mm or 2 ½ x 3 ½ inches). I am probably not that good of an artist, but it is something I have always enjoyed doing, so I decided to give it a go. I did a series of Japanese (Magic) Shiitake Mushrooms in varying colors. Here are the results:

Magic Shiitake Series

Magic Shiitake Series

4 Comments

Filed under art

4 responses to “Artist Trading Cards (ATC)

  1. Your blog keeps getting cooler and cooler!

  2. Pingback: Artist Trading Cards (ATC) Update « Excelsior!

  3. I want to make some…how do i get into this???

  4. pigeonpeanuts

    you just have to find some people to do it with! i replied to a shout out on facebook from one of my friends wanting people to trade by mail. i think the preferred method is in person, but mail works to. the only rule is the size. Artist trading cards are playing-card sized trading cards made by you (or me). You can use any medium you like as long as it’s playing-card size (2.5×3.5 inches, or B8).

Leave a comment