Biggie and Spike

It was such a nice day today, almost all of the dogs had been walked by the time I got to the shelter, which was great for them! I went down the list and the first one I saw who hadn’t been walked was Biggie. He’s a bit of an older dog, but has plenty of spunk and stamina. He listened to me and was easy to walk. I amused myself by rapping to him and calling him Notorious B.I.G. and Biggie Smalls. I don’t think he appreciated the humor. He was a friendly boy and very happy to be walked. Then I walked Spike, who could only go short distances at a slow pace because he has stitches behind his front leg. He was so sweet and affectionate. He was spooked easily and went in between my legs whenever he got scared. Some dogs he wanted to go and greet, but others seemed to frighten him. He was very wary about the cars around. We just took it slow and easy and sat out in the fresh air for a while after a short walk. He wanted to give hugs and kisses and wagged his tail easily. So sweet! I have had nothing but great experiences as a volunteer dog walker at the WPA Humane Society. Can’t wait to go again! Here are the stats:

biggie1

  • Name: Biggie
  • Sex: neutered male
  • Breed: Labrador Retriever Mix
  • Age: @ 6 yrs
  • Weight: 49 lbs

spike2

  • Name: Spike
  • Sex: neutered male
  • Breed: Pit Bull Terrier Mix
  • Age: @ 7mos
  • Weight: @ 36lbs
Getting Up Close and Personal With Spike

Getting Up Close and Personal With Spike

2 Comments

Filed under animals, service

2 responses to “Biggie and Spike

  1. Reading your blog lately makes me want a dog SO BAD. Spike is adorable.

  2. pigeonpeanuts

    I really want to take him home with me but I don’t think the landlord would likeniy, especially if he gets a lot bigger since he’s only a puppy. But he is sooo sweet!

Leave a Reply

