Meet Duke

Duke, sitting for the camera

Duke, sitting for the camera

Let me preface this by saying I probably shouldn’t have started out walking a level 3 dog. The levels, for easiest to hardest to walk are 1, 1-2, 2, 2-3, 3, 3-4, and 4. It went fine, but I was exhausted after walking Duke, so I didn’t walk any others today. Anyways, I had to walk Duke because he is an Akita/Pit Bull mix, and Akitas are like big Shiba Inu, as I mentioned. Duke was great. He is super strong and tried to go after some other dogs and a couple questionable looking gentlemen (can’t say i blamed him, his instincts were probably right), so I held him back then. But for the most part he listened to me, and could do the “Sit” command. It was icy out so we were both slip sliding a bit. All four of his legs went out from under him, and all two of mine a couple times. When I slid and fell on the ice, Duke didn’t pull or try to make a break for it, but rushed immediately to my side to see if I was okay and stayed pressed up close to me until I got up. After our walk, we went to the relaxation area and chilled on the couch. He jumped right up and layed his big ol’ head in my lap. I am in love. He is way too big for an apartment, though, especially one that doesn’t allow pets, so I just hope he finds an awesome home because he is one aweseom dog.

8072770496_orig 8072770515_orig

Leave a comment

Filed under animals, service

Leave a Reply

